Cowboys great DeMarcus Ware makes Pro Football Hall of Fame

It took him an extra year to get there, but DeMarcus Ware is on his way to Canton.

The Cowboys legend and all-time sack leader was announced as a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2023 during NFL Honors on Thursday night.

Ware was called to the stage by Cowboys owner Jerry Jones.

The 13-year veteran was also a finalist for the Hall in 2022, his first year of eligibility. Over nine seasons in Dallas, he made seven straight Pro Bowl appearances and earned four first-team All-Pro nods. He went on to play four more years and earn a Super Bowl ring with Denver.

The #DallasCowboys all-time leader in sacks is heading to the @ProFootballHOF!🙌

Congrats to @DeMarcusWare on reaching another monumental career achievement. #NFLHonors

— Dallas Cowboys (@dallascowboys) February 10, 2023

Linebacker Zach Thomas, who spent one season as a Cowboy after a long career with the Dolphins, was also welcomed to Canton as part of the Class of 2023.

The Cowboys’ “Doomsday” defense standout Chuck Howley, the only man to be named a Super Bowl MVP while playing for the losing team, enters the Hall in the Senior Category.

Joe Thomas, Darrelle Revis, Ken Riley, Joe Klecko, Ronde Barber, and Don Coryell round out the Class of 2023.

Cowboys safety Darren Woodson, a three-time Super Bowl champ as a member of the dynasty teams of the 1990s, was also a finalist for the first time after six times as a semifinalist. His wait for Canton continues.

This content was originally published here.

Share this story